What do you NEED?

ShannonOrr-Maslow

 

 

If I asked you to make a list of the things you needed in life, what would your answer be?  Maybe that new house or car, the dream vacation, the fancy clothes, the “perfect” husband or wife, the perfect health, or maybe just a different job.  I think we could all use a little clarification here.  I believe that somehow our society has twisted what we NEED and what we WANT.  We think that we will never be happy without all of these things, yet when we get them, we are still left unfulfilled.  The problem doesn’t seem to be so much in not having external things but by not having a peace within ourselves.  I think what everyone needs may be a little different.  It also changes at different times during our lives.  Will we really ever give the perfect speech?  Maybe pitch the perfect game?  Maybe we do until somebody else comes along and does it better.  Maybe they get a newer car or a nicer house.  We need to stop comparing ourselves by what we have externally.  This is just a recipe for unhappiness.  There is no rainbow or pot of gold in that world.  The only thing that exists is the never-ending chasing of “stuff” to make us feel secure and satisfied.  It’s kinda crazy but it seems that the only way we really feel satisfied is if we are TRYING to get more satisfied.  So let’s stop the nonsense for a while and look at what we really need.  Everyone will have their own priorities but i think the more basic you can make it the better.  So my list would look something like this.

I NEED:

-An open loving relationship with myself, my family, my friends, and God.  This does not mean a perfect relationship or a relationship with no problems, flaws, or issues.  This just means honest, truthful relationships that I try to better on a daily basis.

-Having the wisdom and integrity to take care of myself how I see fit.  This includes eating right, exercising, sleeping, getting sunlight and fresh air, drinking plenty of water, and having time to meditate, pray, and retreat from the world when i feel like i need to rest and heal.

-Being true to myself and not letting any people/societies dictate what I do with my life.  Following whatever passions and motivations that naturally are with me.  This might change daily.  This means claiming the ability to say no to people when you need to and changing your mind even if it means disappointing people close to you.

-The ability to Provide for myself and my family.  This includes supplying income for food and supplies needed to survive.  Learning skills such as hunting, fishing, gardening, and food storage are all great for this step as they make you ultimately less reliable on paper money should a crisis happen.

 

There may be more for me but these are the things that come to my mind.  Now don’t get me wrong, I like new clothes, cars, boats, bikes, vacations, and everything nice too.  I just no longer allow them to control me.  These are “secondary” things in life that WILL NOT come at the expense of my true values and priorities.  Too many times in this country, we sacrifice our core values for things that are not really very important in the long run.

So I ask you: What do you really NEED in life?

-Joe

 

Leave a Reply

